català - dansk - español - english



Testimonials - what our clients say about us

Nelson and Kathy - Doñana and Extremadura- April 2010

Thank you again for the wonderful trip. You certainly made everything perfect. I have been thoroughly enjoying the pictures. But have been going thru them slowly, remembering where they were taken, and what fun we were having at the time.

We are already thinking about future trips with you, as we had such a wonderful time. Thank you again.

Michel Berseth- Birding Tour in Morocco- March 2010

Hello Christian. Thank you very much for the nice pictures you put on internet. Just beautifull what we have seen.As I already told you, it was a a great plaisure to make this trip with you. At my age, it is important to have everyting well organised and it was perfect.

Sylvie Bütschi - Birding Tour in Morocco - March 2010

Choukran (Thanks) for the wonderful trip and the 13 news ticks! I've had pictures and sounds in my mind for the last two days of this beautiful country. And I've spent a lot of time looking at my photos instead of working...Well, never mind. By the way, the music I bought is really good. One is Touareg. Greetings from dark and rainy Switzerland!Sylvie

Sarah Wilkins – Raptor migration Andalucia - September 2009

Dear Cristian, Thank you so much for a wonderful birding holiday in Zahara.I am so impressed with all your knowledge of birds and your professionalism and patience with non-experts like myself. I hope you had a good journey home and that your business continues to go well. With many thanks and best wishes,Sarah

Lorna Whitworth - Gallocanta, Els Ports & Ebro Delta- November 2008

Dear Cristian & Iben

I just wanted to thank you very much for the recent trip which I really enjoyed. It was a real highlight to finish with the Eagle Owl & I particularly enjoyed the bustards. It was amazing to see the sheer quantity of birds in the delta, particularly in such wonderful light.

Many thanks, Lorna

Annette Phillips – Raptor migration Andalucia - September 2008

Words alone cannot begin to describe the incredible week in Andalucia. The accommodation was of good quality and in fabulous locations. Your knowledge of the area and the birds, including your incredible ability to spot and identify so many birds whilst driving as well. From start to finish, everything was first class. As for the birds, well, the vast quantities of raptors passing overhead, excellent views of Bee-eaters, Little Swift, Bald Ibis, Squacco Heron, Black Stork, Spanish Imperial Eagle, and of course can't forget the now no longer ever elusive Hoopoe, just a few of the 43 lifers seen during the week. The only disappointment is that it had to end, but hopefully I'll be back again sometime. I cannot thank you enough and highly recommend your tours to everyone considering booking, they will exceed all expectations. Thank you again.

Colin Freeman – Raptor migration Andalucia - September 2008

Hi Cristian and Iben

There is a saying; "Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but the moments that take our breath away". You certainly provided many of those in Andalusia. I particularly recall watching a Goshawk repeatedly stooping at a Griffon, and Spanish Imperial Eagle stooping at Black Vulture. You came up trumps finding 6 Spanish Imps. and a Golden Eagle (both species in binoculars at the same time together with Black Vulture). The Thekla Lark, Southern Grey Shrike and Firecrest were the best views I have ever had, while the huge flocks of Black Kites and Black Storks darkening the sky were mind boggling.

Thanks again for a wonderful week, I can hardly wait for the Pyrenees.

Judith Allanson & Francine Noftle - Ebro Delta & Ports - June 2008

These days it is easy to find all sorts of information through the Internet. As a birder one has a bewildering plethora of sites, with trip reports, maps and reviews by local birders. None of these, however, will ever really take the place of experienced local guides. I thought I had done quite a bit of research on the Ebro delta, but I would have missed so much if not for Audoin Birding Tours. Cristian and Iben know this area extremely well because they live here and make it their business to know all the best spots for birds, those breeding here, or migrating through, and even the rarities that should not normally be here. My maps would never have given me the confidence to drive on the myriad dykes that border the rice fields throughout this area. I would have been hopelessly lost and unable to see all this delta has to offer. A second day in the Ports was spent on rocky backroads that my rental car would never have tolerated, and on narrow mountain roads that I would have been too cowardly to drive myself. It was a perfect combination - two completely different habitats, both with lots of birds to offer, plus spectacular sceney. All this in the company of two wonderful people, warm and welcoming, knowledgeable and adventurous, and willing to go the extra mile (literally and figuratively) to ensure you have the best time. Not to mention the opportunity to learn about the local history and culture that really enhances the experience. I know I will be back, on a trip with Cristian and Iben one day, perhaps in the Ebro delta or the Pyrenees or the Extremadura. They have whetted my appetite for more birding in Spain and more of their company. (Testimonial written by Judith Allanson)

Johan and Loes Schaerlaekens - Ebro Delta - February 2008

First of all we want to thank you for your fantastic guiding and information...

Jacopo Tarantino - Ebro Delta - January 2008

Thank you for the birds and for your competence: we enjoyed our trip very much. All the best to you.

Chiara Alessandrini - Ports - December 2007

Birdwatching in the Ebro Delta was great! We saw many species (Flamingoes, Glossy Ibis, Purple Swamp-hen, herons and egrets, waders - especially Sanderlings) and also a Booted Eagle (light form). So it was really great. Besides, wetlands make me feel "at home"!

You are an excellent guide, the vulture feeding station is really an amazing experience, and we were very glad. So thank you very much and hope to come back to Spain!

Claes Martenson, Abbe Sturman, Ella Martenson - Ebro Delta & Ports - December 2007

We had a great time. Thanks again for excellent knowledgeable guiding! Best Memories: Black Vulture close-up and on the ground eating, Griffon Vulture feeding with more than 100 birds, Red knobbed Coot close, Golden Eagle territorial flight display, Kingfisher close and sitting on the road, Several Marsh Harriers over reed beds, Several Purple Swamphens out in the open, Water Rail pig call, Peregrine’s strange call, Griffon’s goose-like call at nest and flying sound when landing on the rock. Fantastic knowledgeable guiding by Cristian!

Jorma Tenovuo – Ebro Delta & Ports – December 2007

I’ve made almost ten birding trips from Finland to Spain but this one with Cristian and Iben was absolutely the best one so far (the previous ones have been nice also but not this good)! Not only the rich birdlife in Ebro delta area but also the interesting species in the near-by mountains (particularly the Wallcreepers) were very impressive. Everything was so well organized, Cristian and Iben in a very elegant way fullfilled my wishes of some target birds to take photos and they are both real professionals in bird identification. Not to mention how nice and friendly couple Cristian and Iben are! I’ll definitely come back again and thanks for wonderful days!

CLICK HERE to see Jorma's photos from this and other birding trips!

Steven and Julie Stein - Ebro Delta & Ports - November 2007

Here we are back in Paris and getting ready for our trip to Ecuador. We have wonderful memories of our birding experience in the Ebro Delta and surrounding areas and wanted to thank you for making a lot of it possible. We enjoyed your company and appreciated your expertise... and will never forget that morning breakfast spectacle with the Griffon Vultures and that last morning banding event, as well as the Alpine Accentor right in front of our noses!!!! STEVE and JULIE

Gillian, Chris, and David Woon - Ebro Delta & Ports - October 2007

Just to say what a great time we had visiting the Ebro Delta and seeing the amazing number and variety of birds there - our photos don't do justice to the subtle beauty of the landscape. We also visited the Ports de Beseit - very different landscape but equally beautiful, and the vulture feeding is particularly mind-blowing - we will never look at vultures in the same way again! Thanks to Cristian for his well-informed and friendly guiding. It was worth getting up at 6 am! Very much recommended.

Dorothy & Len Nelson - Raptor migration Andalucia - September 2007

We wish to express our sincere thanks for making our holiday in Andalucia so memorable. From our safari trip in Donana, the whale watching trip, the wonderful migrating birds, the black storks, the swallows, the spoonbills, (and of course the nightjars!) we are unable to adequately express our pleasure. The holiday surpassed our expectations down to the minutest detail. The smooth running of the arrangements, your care and excellent driving made it a very happy experience.

Many thanks and best wishes. We hope to see you again some time in the future.

Colin Freeman - Raptor migration Andalucia - September 2007

From breakfast on the roof terrace on day 1, where I had my first lifer (Spotless Starling), to the river next to Malaga Airport hours before takeoff where I saw my 33rd (Monk Parakeet), I enjoyed every minute of the week's birdwatching. Many of the birds I had only seen previously rarely or in brief glimpses were there in numbers in plain view. Cristian not only identified birds but explained the diagnostic features with great patience. Watching the ringing at dawn was an eye-opening experience and the whale watching boat trip nearly to the Moroccan shore an unexpected thrill. The highlight for me was undoubtedly watching the raptors soaring majestically overhead on the way to Africa.

The variety of accommodation was very well chosen, all had great character and who could complain about Hawfinches from the front door at Huerta Grande. I can't wait to go again to find the birds we missed this time. Thank you again for a wonderful holiday.

Sue & Peter Wilkes - Ebro Delta & Ports - August 2007

Thank you for our two great days. It was such a contrast between the Ebro Delta and Ports and we really enjoyed both days. Not only did we see so many birds, butterflies and animals but also your knowledge of the environment made everything so much more vivid and enjoyable. We came away with a much better understanding of the unique Ebro Delta and the challenges it faces. We can barely believe the number of male ibex we spotted especially the one standing so close to the road. Thanks for a wonderful couple of days. You were great company and the best guide we could have had with your wide ranging knowledge and feel for the area.

Kathy Buosi - Birding tour in Extremadura - April 2007

Thank you so much for your company last week in Extremadura. Your guiding was first class and I wish you every success for the future. I have every confidence that you will do very well in your business. I really appreciated the extra explanation you gave us regarding bird distribution, behaviour etc. which adds greatly to the wonderful experience we had seeing great sights such as the Spanish Imperial Eagle perched for so long and the Otter eating a fish. The dark phase Monty's was of particular interest to me. Better views of raptors which I have seen in the past, but not as well, added to my knowledge. Above all, your courtesy and good humour was appreciated by all.

Ken and Sue Tapp - Kingdom of the Iberian Lynx - March 2007

Thank you so much for all your efforts in finding not one but two lynx for Sue and I on our recent visit to Andalusia - not to mention Otter, Egyptian Mongoose, Spanish Ibex, Moufflon, and numerous Red and Fallow Deers. The bird list of 141 species also exceeded my expectations for March due in no small part to your excellent hearing dedication and hard work. If you need a reference at any time I will be very happy to recommend your excellent service.

Magnus Persmark - Ebro Delta & Montsià - February 2007

Thank you so much for an outstanding day in the Ebro delta and Montsia – the birds were fabulous and the locations quite interesting. I was also very impressed with how well you had planned the outing; a February day list over 100 surely must be a testament to that! Thanks again for a very memorable day afield and I can't wait for the next opportunity to travel with you again; you run a very nicely organized company.

Elise & David Moore - Ebro Delta - February 2007

Thanks for a fun day of birding. Dave and I thoroughly enjoyed being with both of you and were very happy with all the new birds that we saw. It was a wonderful day and thanks so much for introducing us to European birds.

Judy Duffield & William Kramer - Ebro Delta - February 2007

Dear Cristian,
We had such a wonderful day with you on the delta, and seeing the bird list all in one place made it even more impressive! We loved Barcelona, and hope to return. When we do, we'll be sure to contact you and Iben for a trip into the mountains. Thanks again for your expert guiding!

Janet Leach & Nigel Williams - Ebro Delta & Ports - November 2006

Thank you so much for two wonderful days in the delta and mountains last week. We have been playing our photos back on the TV and remembering all the fantastic things we saw. I will always love the Griffon vultures now! Good luck with your company, and don't be surprised if we turn up in the future!

Masayuki Kurechi - Ebro Delta & l'Albufera - November 2006

Thanks a lot for your perfect guiding all over our trip in Spain. That was very exiting. We could enjoy many interesting birds and habitats and know the system of wetland management there. Hope to see you again in the near future.

Nubohira Haraikawa - Ebro Delta & l'Albufera - November 2006

Dear Cristian san,
Only a very short staying, but we could taste enough the fantastic wonderland named "the Ebro Delta" and "Albufera". I think you are the best guide, like a magician who can change a boring human world into a dramatic and heart-fluttering nature world. I hope to see you again.

Gordon Saunders - Ebro Delta and Montsià October 2006 

I am still excited about my day birding with you last week ... it was an awesome day! Thanks for your great guidance. The Delta will leave me with lots of great memories ... BIG thanks to you both.

Jo Ellen & Michael Thelen - Raptor migration Andalucia - September 2006

Your choice of accomodations for Spain was excellent. The hotels were comfortable, the restaurants in the hotels provided great food and service and the locations within the town/villages were very well placed. Your daily schedule was very reasonable. We especially appreciated that you scheduled a real lunch most days. It was very civilized and made sense based on the heat/climate of the locale. You made a point to find unique restaurants for dinner in every city we were in during the trip. The meals, wine selections and desserts that we experienced each evening made me feel like we had a special connection to each city. This is a very unique aspect of this tour vs. others tours that we have been on with different companies.

Mona & Larry Rogers - Raptor migration Andalucia - September 2006

Spain is a wonderful memory. When people ask us how our vacation was, we always say that southern Spain was beautiful, the food and wine excellent, the birding superb, and our guides were really great. Many, many thanks for an excellent trip, guys!

Martin Timms - Ebro Delta - August 2006

Iben - As you know we decided to combine our family holiday to the Costa Dorada with a couple of days in Barcelona and a day trip to the Ebro Delta. This was all easily achieved by train from our home base up the coast and catered well for our mixed family interests of theme parks and water parks, cultural sites and birdwatching. I did think about doing the birdwatching myself by hire car but eventually settled on putting my hand in my pocket and having the added relaxation of yourself and Cristian undertaking all the hard work for us. We couldn't wish to have met a a nicer couple for our day out and I was so impressed with your passion and knowledge for the birds and conservation in the delta. Many thanks for your flexible approach - I know nothing would have been too much trouble for you. We saw 80 plus bird species which is probably about 30 more than I would have achieved myself and for me it was the most relaxing day of the entire holiday. And you were both great company too - I enjoyed the conversation just as much as the birdwatching.

Clausjannic Labuz - Ebro Delta & Columbretes - July 2006

Thank you very much for a great trip to the islands of Columbretes - my second (and surely not last.....) bird trip with you. Your great company and knowledge was once again a very good experience. Keep on doing this. Hope to see you again soon :-)

CLICK HERE to see some of Claus's Pictures

Claudio Koller - Columbretes - July 2006

Thank you for the excellent boat trip to Columbretes, which you had organized for us! Your trip was really a big highlight for all of us! In all the two weeks we had only two days which came close to it.

Nancy Marsh - Pyrenees, steppes & the Ebro Delta - May 2006

The 2 of you have given me a great gift. The opportunity to see Spain, experience Catalan culture, learn some things about Danish culture from Iben's conversations, learn about the birds and other individuals in nature...and do all this under ideal conditions. 2 birders, 2 guides, 4 friends.  It could not have been better! Your enthusiasm and love of what you do is inspiring and encourages me to learn more.

Keith & Ann Powrie - Birding tour in Extremadura - April 2006

Thank you very much for a such a wonderful and memorable trip to Extremadura. Your research into locating all the birds certainly paid off and everyone saw their target species, and, because of your perseverance, saw them well. I think we will have to return again next year and do it all over again. We enjoyed it so much it would be no problem!

Amelia Almeida & Rui Vilar - Birding tour in Extremadura - April 2006

We had a great time with you in Spain and really hope to be able to meet you again, soon.

Alberto Galofré - Birding tour in Extremadura - April 2006

Needless to say, I enjoyed this trip immensely.  The combination of good birds, great organization, fantastic leaders, great company was simply amazing. I couldn't have asked for anything more.

Kai & Maija Suomela - Ebro Delta and Belchite - March 2006

Thank you for the two most interesting birding days in Spain. We very much enjoyed the trip and we really saw almost all the birds we had on our "list". However, you never see all the birds and this gives us an excellent reason to come back to Spain next year (or even earlier).

Mike & Stephanie Brown - Raptor migration Andalucia - September 2005

Just a quick note to say we had a great time on the Bird Migration Holiday and to say we were very impressed by both the itinerary and the guiding skills of Cristian.
This was the first time that we have had the opportunity to learn about bird ringing on a bird holiday, meet the respected author of an authoritative guide book, and witness migrations of raptors in large numbers. The visit to view the dolphins and whales although tricky to organise was much appreciated.
In terms of guiding, Cristian is probably one of the best birding guides we have encountered in many years of travel. His knowledge of the detailed aspects of identification of birds, particularly juveniles and birds in moult, was really impressive. Nothing was too much trouble for Christian. He listened keenly to our requirements and carefully tailored the visits to meet any special interests. He even organised a nightjar trip after dinner, even though he had been working and driving since 7.30am. This was organised with another group, so that 10 people attended and what is more achieved its aims - thanks to his local knowledge. His patience with us when we kept asking for repeat explanations of the differences between booted eagles and other raptors was appreciated. And last, but not least, his driving was skillful and safe, making the ride comfortable and enjoyable (not an insignificant issue for us!).

Callum & Christian Christie - Raptor migration Andalucia - September 2005

We've had a wonderful week. Thank you for sharing your expertise with such enthusiasm and patience, and for looking after the group so well. We wish you every success for the future with Audouin Birding Tours.

Lesley Franz - Raptor migration Andalucia - September 2005

Cristian, you are a wonderful birder and a very delightful human being. Thank you for making our Andalucian birding trip so enjoyable. I think you are one of the very best birders one could hope for. And I think you have the people skills to complete the key requirements for being a good trip leader.

Joseph and Phyllis Meltzer - Raptor migration Andalucia - September 2005

Hope your new company is a success. You are a great birding guide and we enjoyed spending 2 weeks with you. I will send your new company's address to a few of my birding pals.

Ken Munson & Nancy Holden - Raptor migration Andalucia - May 2005

We have been boring our friends with stories of our great birding adventure. It really was the best and you both could not have been better company or better teachers. You are both extremely knowledgeable and outstanding as leaders. Thank you for a memorable two weeks.

John Filor - Raptor migration Andalucia - May 2005

Cristian and Iben were outstanding, not only for their knowledge of birds, but for their careful planning, patience and good humor.

Chuck Litterst -Ebro Delta & Ports and Lleida Steppes - April 2005

Buenos dias Cristian,

Now that I've begun to get my North American biorhythms back, I thought I would take a minute to tell you, once again, what a great time I had birding with you and Iben... Thanks again for a great introduction to Spanish birds.

Mike & Julie Lockyear - Birding tour in Extremadura - April 2005

We found our guide Cristian to be very pleasant, laid back and with a good sense of humor. But the main thing for us was that nothing was too much trouble, and he made sure everybody saw the birds they wanted to see. Above all, Cristian's  enthusiasm and knowledge of birds made the trip a really good one. Hope to be back soon.


Home - Links - Link Exchange - About Us - Testimonials - Former Employers - Our tours - Package Tours - Weekend Trips - Day Trips - Conditions - Tour Calendar - TRIP REPORTS - Gallery - Bird gallery - Landscape gallery - News - Subscribe Newsletter - Contact Us - Booking Form     
More information about:
Ebro Delta Nature Park - Els Ports - Montsià - Monfragüe, Extremadura

Principal - Excursiones en el delta del Ebro y Ports - TestimoniosContactar 

Principal - Excursions al delta de l'Ebre i Port - On anem - Informació del delta de l'Ebre - Testimonis de les nostres excursions - Empreses col·laboradores - Contactar 


Audouin Birding Tours - Phone.:(0034)649286086 -

Englyst Webdesign -
- Typovizion CMS - Typo3